Progressive Labour Party MP Zane DeSilva is back in Cabinet as the new Minister of Tourism, with a new Minister of Finance.

Mr DeSilva and Curtis Dickinson were officially sworn in at Government House at 1pm this afternoon, with Mr Dickerson taking over the finance portfolio held by Premier David Burt.

Mr DeSilva takes over the Ministry of Tourism from Jamahl Simmons, who is now the Minister Without Portfolio with responsibility for the Ministry of Transport previously held by Walter Roban, the Deputy Premier.

You may recall Mr DeSilva, the PLP MP for Southampton East, resigned from Cabinet as Minister of Social Development and Sports in January.

A close ally of former Premier Dr Ewart Brown, Mr DeSilva stepped down as Minister during the much publicised dispute over fee cuts by the Bermuda Health Council for MRI and CT scans.

Mr Dickinson won the by-election in Warwick North East and joined the ranks of PLP MPs five months ago.

Also reshuffled today was Walton Brown, now the former Minister of Home Affairs, who was replaced by Walter Roban.

The Ministry of Home Affairs also  gains the Department of Energy, but loses Immigration, which moves to the Ministry of National Security.

Mr Brown is now the Minister for the Cabinet Office.

Health Minister Kim Wilson now holds responsibility for the Department of Financial Assistance, which up to now, fell under the Ministry of Social Development, headed up by Michael Weeks.

Mr Weeks is no longer a Minister and will return to the House of Assembly next week as a back bencher.

The Premier now holds responsibility for Government’s information technology policy.

Speaking at today’s ceremony, Mr Burt said the reshuffle reduced the number of ministries from eleven to ten.