Bermuda’s own World Triathlon champion Flora Duffy and Tyler Butterfield were crowned the 2018 Athletes of the Year on Thursday night, at the 38th annual Sports Awards, held at the Fairmont Southampton Resort.

Footballer Leilanni Nesbeth and cyclists Matthew Oliveira were named the Junior Athletes of the Year as well, as top athletes from both the past and present were honoured.

Held under the theme ‘Immortal: Monumental Figures in Bermuda Sports’, Minister of Labour, Community Affairs and Sports, Lovitta Foggo, presented the Minister’s Awards for cricket and football to Marley Christian, team captain of the women’s team and Marco Warren of PHC.

Dion Stovell and Sanaa Berkeley received the cricket award.

Senior Achievement Male Awards: Tyrone Smith – Track & Field, Noah Browne – Squash, Micah Franklin – Squash, Scott Barnes – Karting and Tyler Butterfield – Triathlon

Senior Achievement Female Awards: Jessica Lewis – Para Sports, Erica Hawley – Triathlon, Anna-Bella Collins – Equestrian, Caitlyn Conyers – Cycling and Flora Duffy – Triathlon

Junior Achievement Male Awards: Clevonte Lodge-Bean – Track & Field, Taylor Carrick – Squash, Christian Ebbin – Sailing,

Junior Achievement Female Awards: Sakari Famous – Track & Field, Alyssa Rowse – Cycling, Danni Watson – Football, andLeilanni Nesbeth – Football

Appreciation Awards: The Argus Group and Lister Insurance

Special Achievement Awards: Tim Trott – Basketball and Steven Douglas – Cricket

Sports Citation Awards: Pippa Barritt – Equestrian, North Village Community Club Triple Crown Champions 1977-78, Bermuda Under 19 Cricket Team, Larry Mussenden – Football and Calvin Symonds – Cricket

Special Awards: Bermuda Under 15 Girls Football Team, Bermuda Squash Team, Bermuda Commonwealth Games Triathlon Team and Niquita Robinson, Vance Brown & Aaron Denkins – Football

Ministers Award – Cricket: Sanaa Berkeley & Dion Stovell

Ministers Award – Football: Marley Christian & Marco Warren

  • Photos Courtesy of DCI: