Jamaica Gleaner: KINGSTON – The North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletics Associations (NACAC) have named double-double Olympic champion Elaine Thompson Herah as one of their Athletes of the Year.

Thompson Herah, 29, experienced historic moments during the 2021 global track and field season when she won two individual gold medals at the Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan. Her 100-meter victory came in an Olympic record time of 10.61 seconds, while her 200-meter victory four days later set a national record time of 21.53 seconds.

She then won her third gold medal at the Games by winning the 4x100m relay for Jamaica.

Then Thompson Herah turned her attention to the Wanda Diamond League. At the Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon, she drove 10.54 seconds to win the women’s 100m, lowering the national record of 10.63 seconds set by Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce earlier this summer. Her time is the second fastest in history behind the late American Florence Griffith Joyner (Flo Jo), whose 10.49 seconds is the world record since 1988.

Thompson Herah followed suit, taking her seventh diamond in Zurich, Switzerland, winning the 100m final in 10.65 seconds.


Only five women this century have finished a season with the fastest times over 100m and 200m. At the start of the season, four of those five were Jamaicans. And that season, Thompson Herah became the first woman to repeat that feat after her success in 2016.

It fell below the 10.80 mark 15 times. Only Fraser-Pryce has more such runs. But Thompson Herah is the queen of runs under 10.70, with four of them, even more than Flo Jo. Thompson Herah, Fraser-Pryce and bronze medalist Shericka Jackson completed the women’s 100m medal podium in Tokyo, and the trio have completed 34 runs under 11 seconds this year.

American shot putter Ryan Crouser is the other NACAC athlete of the year.

He holds both world records and last season reset the standard in men’s shot put indoors and outdoors. The 28-year-old American champion also won the NACAC Indoor Male Athlete of the Year, followed by gold at the Tokyo Olympics and the Diamond League trophy.

  • Top Feature Photo: Getty Images