A new set of twelve new police officers participated in the Passing Out Parade for the Recruit Foundation Course #78, held at Police Headquarters in Prospect on Thursday.

Leading the list of dignitaries in attendance, was Governor John Rankin, together with the US Consul General and a host of Government officials.

Twelve Constables were on parade, accompanied by the Bermuda Island Pipe Band under the command of Pipe Sergeant Aidan Soares. They were led by the Parade Commander and Drill Instructor Sergeant Derrick Golding.

The newest members of the Bermuda Police Service are:

  • Constable 2521 Jermari Belboda
  • Constable 2522 Daischon Chin
  • Constable 2523 Jah-Zico Douglas
  • Constable 2524 George Edmead
  • Constable 2525 Jonathan Flood
  • Constable 2526 Kori Jackman
  • Constable 2527 Nathan Lawrence
  • Constable 2529 Thomas Senior
  • Constable 2530 Tyler Simons
  • Constable 2531 Teriann Smith
  • Constable 2532 Gregory Stienlet
  • Constable 2533 Zhane Virgil-Darrell

Several awards were presented during the ceremony including the Athletic Awards for the Instructors Cup awarded to the fastest male and female officers in the International 10K or six mile Flatts road running course.

The Instructors Cup was presented to Constable Teriann Smith for the fastest time of 1 hour, 16 minutes and 40 seconds in the female category. In the male category, Constable Daischon Chin won the cup for the fastest time of 45 minutes and 50 seconds. Both officers received All Round Athlete and Physical Fitness Awards as well.

The Deputy Commissioner’s Cup awarded for the best effort on the course and the officer who made the most progress went to Constable Thomas Senior.

In keeping with the tradition of each Recruit Foundation Course team raising money for a charity of their choice, a cheque for $2,150 was presented to Mrs Alicia Zuill representing Special Olympics of Bermuda.

Constable Jah-Zico Douglas received the Academic Achievement Award for his overall test average score of 90.54 percent.

The Commissioner’s Shield went to the Green Syndicate led by Sgt Derrick Golding; consisting of Constables Jah-Zico Douglas, Kori Jackman, Nathan Lawrence, Teriann Smith and Gregory Stienlet.

And the Baton of Honour was presented to Jah-Zico Douglas, who was selected as the most distinguished student officer by the Training Centre Staff.

A spokesman said: “On behalf of Acting Commissioner of Police Antoine Daniels, the men and women of the Bermuda Police Service would like to congratulate and welcome these twelve new officers into the Bermuda Police Service family.”

  • Photos Courtesy of BPS