The countdown is on to September 28, the day any other PLP MP who decides to throw their hat into the ring to challenge the party’s leadership, must declare their intentions.

Curtis Dickinson, the former Minister of Finance was the first to declare that he will challenge Premier David Burt.

His announcement was followed by the former Minister of National Security, Renée Ming, who submitted her letter of intention to challenge the party’s Deputy Leader, Walter Roban.

Ultimately, the decision rests with the party’s 150 delegates, who will take a vote at the annual conference next month on October 19 to 22.

The vote will be taken on October 20.