No announcement yet on just who will vie for the seat in Pembroke Central, following the death Progressive Labour Party MP Walton Brown, as the date for the Bye-Election in Constituency 17 was set for November 21, 2019.

According to the Parliamentary Registrar, the Writ of Election was issued by the Governor, John Rankin on Tuesday.

“Nomination Day will be on 7th November 2019 from 11am – 1pm,” a spokespersons said.

“The polling station is St. Paul AME Church Hall, Pembroke.

“Registration for voters living in Constituency 17 will close on Monday, October 28th at 5pm.

“Voters can register online at or at the Parliamentary Registry Office in Craig Appin house 3rd floor, #8 Wesley Street in the City of Hamilton.”

Still no word on who will represent the PLP in this election. Names being touted include Senator Jason Hayward and Senator Anthony Richardson.

The One Bermuda Alliance has yet to say whether or not Andrew Simons will run again, after he was defeated by the late Walton Brown in the last General Election in July 2017.

Mr Brown secured 540 votes, Andrew Simons came in with 283 votes. There were 1,145 registered voters in C17 in 2017 – 840 voters turned out to cast their ballots in the last election, which was won by the PLP in a landslide victory.

Formal announcements on the candidates who will represent both parties are pending.