News Release: Hamilton, Bermuda – The Government is reminding the public that people who use credit cards to pay their taxes will incur a service fee to do so.

As announced in the 2019/2020 budget, for many years the government has been incurring millions of dollars in credit card charges due to taxpayers using their credit cards to pay their taxes. Effective from May 6, 2019, the government will start to recover these charges by implementing the 1.45% credit card service fee for all payments made by debit/credit card.

The fee will be in effect at the following locations:

  • Accountant General Cashiers
  • Transport Control Department
  • Registry General
  • Public Works and Parks
  • Health (Maternal, Environment, Dental, Child)
  • Department of Public Transportation

The Office of the Tax Commissioner, the Department of Planning, the Department of Customs, and Magistrates and Supreme Courts will be implementing the new service fee in the coming months, after required system upgrades.