Finance Minister Curtis Dickinson announced the appointment of a COVID-19 Economic Advisory Committee at the latest government briefing held on Wednesday.

In follow up to his statement last week to “navigate this crisis”, he said the Government would “seek the input and advice from all stakeholders in the community”.

He will chair the Committee, with the following 11 members appointed to serve:

  • Ms Teresa Chatfield, Owner/Director, MEF Bermuda
  • Mr Dennis Fagundo, Co-Managing Director, D&J Construction and President, Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr Chris Furbert, President, Bermuda Industrial Union
  • The Honorable Patricia J. Gordon-Pamplin, JP, MP, Shadow Minister of Finance & Health
  • Mr Marc Grandisson, President & Chief Executive Officer, Arch Capital Group Ltd and Deputy Chair, Association of Bermuda Insurers & Reinsurers [ABIR]
  • Ms Cheryl-Ann Lister, Chair, Bermuda National Anti-Money Laundering Committee
  • Mr Michael Neff, Managing Director, Bermuda & International Wealth, Butterfield Group
  • Ms Sylvia Oliveira, Chief Executive Officer, Wilton Re Bermuda and Chairman, Bermuda International Long Term Insurers & Reinsurers
  • Mr Denis Pitcher, Chief Fintech Advisor, Government of Bermuda
  • Mr Patrick Tannock, Managing Director, AXA XL and Chair, Association of Bermuda International Companies [ABIC]; and
  • Mr Stephen Weinstein, Chief Legal Officer, RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd and Deputy Chair, Bermuda Business Development Agency

At their first meeting, held yesterday, the Minister said the Committee discussed “a range of organizational matters including the Committee’s Terms of Reference”.

“This Committee will provide insight and expert advice on how to protect jobs and stimulate economic activity during the economic crisis stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic,” he added.

“I look forward to working with this team to identify and eventually implement a series of measures to enable sustainable economic growth and mitigate the social impacts of the pandemic.”