News Release: HAMILTON, Bermuda – “I am extremely pleased that the Department of Workforce Development was able to provide $350,000 in scholarship funding”, said the Minister of Economy and Labour, Jason Hayward, at a brief ceremony held yesterday to recognise the Department of Workforce Development 2022 scholarship recipients.

“This investment enabled us to increase the number of scholarships available from the ten offered last year to 25 this year, an increase of 150 percent.”  

In alignment with the Bermuda Youth Employment Strategy, the Department of Workforce Development is committed to providing Bermudian students access to overseas and local scholarships. This investment will help to strengthen Bermuda’s workforce and create a more sustainable and stable community.

The twenty-three Overseas Awards are valued at up to $10,000 annually for no more than four years, contingent on the student maintaining a minimum GPA of 2.7/ B- per semester term. The two Local Awards are for full tuition at Bermuda College, contingent on the student maintaining a minimum GPA of 2.67/ B- per semester term. 

Minister Hayward continued: “The growth of this initiative further demonstrates the Government’s commitment to developing our youth. The funding of these scholarships is essential to securing the placement of Bermudians in high-demand occupations in the workforce. Examples include the areas of Aligned Health Care, Information Technology, Business Administration, Management, Hospitality and Vocational and Technical Trades. This investment in our youth, who are the future of this country, has allowed twenty-five Bermudian students to further their tertiary education at Bermuda College and various educational institutions overseas.”

“Furthermore, upon graduation, the Department of Workforce Development invites scholarship recipients to take advantage of a paid internship initiative in their field of study to obtain invaluable industry experience.” 

Addressing the recipients, Minister Hayward said: “You should all be incredibly proud. Of the 116 applicants, only 25 of you were selected for these awards. I sincerely congratulate you all and encourage you to make the most of your educational experience. After completing your studies, I ask that you return home and give back to our community.”

This year’s recipients are furthering their studies in computer science, engineering, healthcare and medicine, information technology, genetics, business, biomedical science, communications, actuarial science, accounting, enterprise systems, and marine science. 

The recipients and their course of study are as follows:

1.Armari MayburyBachelor of Science in Computer ScienceUniversity of South Florida
2.Caden WilliamsBachelor of Science in EngineeringAndrews University
3.Cusheah SmithBachelor of Science in NursingKettering College
4.Damion SimmonsBachelor of Science in Human KineticsSt. Francis Xavier University
5.Destini Hill-EdwardsBusiness ManagementFranklin Pierce University
6.Ivy InghamBachelor of Science in NursingKettering College
7.Jadyn TeartPre-MedOakwood University
8.Jhazii JohnsonInformation TechnologyUniversity of West London
9.Jordan BascomeBachelor of Medicine (MDAmerican University of Antigua College of Medicine
10.Keazia Burchall-BusbySpecialization in Genetics (Honors)University of Western Ontario
11.Kyasia SimmonsBachelors of ScienceLeeds Beckett University
12.Makayla TuckerBachelor of Science in EngineeringSyracuse University
13.Maya PeartBachelor of CommunicationsHAN University of Applied Sciences
14.Pria LewisBachelor of Commerce (Major in Accounting)University of Guelph
15.Reanna BassettBachelor of CommerceDalhousie University
16.Roneeyah JonesBachelor of Science in NursingWinston-Salem State University
17.Rylee GardnerBachelor of ScienceNova Southeastern University
18.Sachio HarrisonBachelor of Actuarial ScienceMcMaster University
19.Shani Darrell BBA in Enterprise SystemsSt. Francis Xavier University
20.Shani TuckerBachelor of Science (Biomedical Science)University of Southampton
21.Stefan Ackah-SimonsBachelor of BusinessOakwood University
22.Tahj CoxBachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)Queen Mary University of London (Barts and the London School of Medicine)
23.Zene WadeBiomedical Science and EnterpriseGeorgia State University
24.Catherine BellAssociate of Science (Marine Science)Bermuda College – Local
25.Elizabeth Valencia-VasquezBachelor in Business AdministrationBermuda College/Mount Saint Vincent – Local