News Release: HAMILTON, Bermuda – On Friday, July 22, 2022, under the leadership of President Bro Armell Thomas, General Secretary Bro Kevin Grant and the Education Committee Co-Chairs Sis Lauren Bell and Sis Linda Bogle-Mienzer, the Bermuda Public Services Union (BPSU) hosted its 30th Annual Education Awards Ceremony.

Reflecting the BPSU’s ongoing commitment to provide educational opportunities for members and their dependents, the Union has annually granted scholarships for local, online and overseas study. Since the inception of this initiative, the value of these education awards has totaled over $755,000.

Typically, each year the BPSU grants twelve awards, however, in recognition of this 30-year milestone, the BPSU Education Committee increased the number of awards to eighteen. This included nine local/online awards valued at $1,500 each and nine overseas awards valued at $3,500 each.

The BPSU was honoured to grant BPSU education awards to the following:

Local/Online Recipients

  • Van Dyke Bean – Portobello Institute
  • Rickai Burrows – Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Joseph Christopher – Athabasca University
  • Christine Joell – Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Marcelle Lawrence – University of Toronto
  • Dejhi-Anne McKoy – Walden University
  • Tiphani Philip – University of Essex
  • Selay Simons – Bermuda College
  • Chynna Trott – Southern New Hampshire University

Overseas Recipients

  • Keturah Bulford-Trott – University of Maryland
  • Jada Dean – Florida International University
  • Elijah Grigsby – Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Jonathan Jervis – The University of Law
  • Jenesis McCallan – Gardner -Webb University
  • Elena Sanchez – New York University
  • Yve Smith – Western University
  • Layla Williams – Emerson College
  • Alnique Young-Looby – Gordon College

The BPSU congratulates all recipients and wish them much success in their future.